BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced the 2021 SWAC Softball Tournament field, with Texas Southern and Jackson State heading into the postseason with respective number one seeds.

Texas Southern (13-5 SWAC) clinched its eleventh-straight Western Division championship. Prairie View A&M earned the #2 seed with a 12-6 record in conference play. Rounding out the field for the SWAC Western Division is #3 seed Grambling State (10-8) and #4 Southern (9-9).

In the Eastern Division Jackson State comes in as the top seed with an 12-6 record in SWAC competition. Alabama State (10-8) earned the #2 seed and looks for its sixth-straight trip to the championship game, having won the tournament in 2019.

Alabama A&M (8-10) is the #3 seed, and Alcorn State (8-7) is the East’s #4 seed in the tournament field.
Alabama A&M and Alcorn State finished the season tied in wins (8) but AAMU claimed the #3 seed by virtue of owning the head-to-head tie breaker over Alcorn State. 

The 2021 SWAC Softball Tournament is scheduled to run from May 11-14 at the Gulfport Sportsplex in Gulfport, Miss with May 15 serving as an “if necessary” date to determine this year’s champion. The opening-round matchups are as follows:

Tuesday, May 11
East #2 Alabama State vs. West #3 Grambling State, 9:00 a.m.
West #2 Prairie View A&M vs. East #3 Alabama A&M, 12:00 p.m.
West #1 Texas Southern vs. East #4 Alcorn State, 3:00 p.m.
East #1 Jackson State vs. West #4 Southern, 6:00 p.m.

Be sure to check www.swac.org for all updates and information in relation to the tournament as it is made available. The complete tournament bracket can be accessed by clicking the link above. 



Ronald Wallace

Founder of Ballin Down South|Sports Broadcaster|Play-by-Play
Voice of BDS Sports Network-Talk Show The Interview
Member of ASWA - Fansided Contributor